Arunachal Pradesh Assembly Passes Bill for Creation of 2 New Districts: Keyi Panyor and Bichom

The Arunachal Pradesh assembly, through a voice vote, approved the Arunachal Pradesh (Re-Organisation of Districts) Amendment Bill, 2024, leading to the establishment of two new districts—Keyi Panyor and Bichom. Chief Minister Pema Khandu introduced the bill, which increases the total number of districts to 28 in the state. Keyi Panyor district, carved out from Lower Subansiri district, will have its headquarters in Yachuli and include a population of over 30,000 with 195 villages. Bichom district, created from East Kameng and West Kameng districts, will have Napangphung as its headquarters, encompassing an area of 2,897 square kilometers and a population of 9,710.

The financial memorandum of the bill outlines a recurring financial implication of ₹3.73 crore for each district from the state exchequer for the salary of various government employees in different categories of posts.

On Thursday, the Arunachal Pradesh assembly unanimously approved a bill to establish two new districts through a voice vote.

The state cabinet had previously granted approval on February 5 for the creation of the two districts, aiming to enhance administrative efficiency. Alongside the Arunachal Pradesh (Re-Organisation of Districts) Amendment Bill, 2024, the government introduced three other bills during the assembly session. Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein presented the Arunachal Pradesh Fiscal Responsibility and Budget Management (Amendment) Bill 2024, while Home Minister Bamang Felix introduced the amended version of the Arunachal Pradesh Lokayukta Bill 2024.

Additionally, Land Management Minister Nakap Nalo introduced the Arunachal Pradesh (Land Settlement and Records) (Amendment) Bill 2024. Discussion on these bills is scheduled for the next assembly session.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *