Election Commissioner Arun Goel resigns prior to Lok Sabha polls

Arun Goel

Election Commissioner Arun Goel submitted his resignation on Saturday in anticipation of the Lok Sabha polls, and President Droupadi Murmu has approved the resignation. Although Goel’s term as the election commissioner was scheduled to conclude in 2027, a gazette notification noted that President Murmu accepted his resignation effective March 9, 2024, as per the provisions of The Chief Election Commissioner and other Election Commissioners (Appointment, Conditions of Service and Term of Office) Act, 2023.

Also read about: BJP Splurges Rs 30 Cr in 30 Days on Google Ads, Primarily Targets North Indian States

With both election commissioner positions vacant, the Election Commission of India is now a single-member body under the leadership of Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar. It’s noteworthy that Anup Pandey had previously resigned in February, leaving a vacant post for an Election Commissioner.

The motive behind Goel’s resignation remains undisclosed at this time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *