Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar and cabinet resigns, Nayab Singh Saini to be the new CM

Nayab Signh Saini to be new CM of Haryana after ML Khatter's resignation.

Ahead of the Lok Sabha elections, fractures within the ruling coalition between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) in Haryana prompted Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar to tender his resignation on Tuesday.

The BJP asserted that it held 41 MLA seats, bolstered by the support of 5 Independents, thus surpassing the critical halfway mark of 45 seats in the Haryana assembly. A spokesperson for the Haryana government confirmed that Khattar has submitted his resignation letter and cabinet to the Haryana governor.

The relationship between the BJP and the JJP, led by Deputy Chief Minister Dushyant Chautala, soured notably due to their inability to come to a seat-sharing arrangement for the Lok Sabha elections in the state. Notably, in the 2019 elections, the BJP swept all 10 Lok Sabha seats in Haryana.

Reports suggest that Nayab Singh Saini, the BJP MP representing Haryana’s Kurukshetra constituency, or Sanjay Bhatia, the Karnal MP, are the leading contenders to succeed Manohar Lal Khattar as the Chief Minister of Haryana.

Union Minister Arjun Munda and BJP National General Secretary Tarun Chugh have been designated as observers for Haryana. The appointment of the new Chief Minister will be announced following discussions with MLAs by the appointed observers.

In October 2023, Nayab Singh Saini, an OBC member and Lok Sabha MP from Haryana’s Kurukshetra, was named the new state unit president by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ahead of the forthcoming Lok Sabha Elections. Saini’s appointment is believed to have bolstered the BJP’s influence within the OBC community in the state.

Also Read: https://khabarelahar.com/kejriwal-accuses-bjp-of-engaging-in-vote/

It is reported that Manohar Lal Khattar is likely to contest from Karnal in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Currently, the BJP holds 41 MLAs in the 90-member House, while the JJP has 10. Additionally, the ruling coalition enjoys the backing of six out of seven independents.

For more Updates: Twitter/@lahar_e5238

2 thoughts on “Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar and cabinet resigns, Nayab Singh Saini to be the new CM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *