Rajya Sabha Election 2024 results have been declared

Results for the Upper House election in Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, and Himachal Pradesh were announced on Tuesday, shortly after the conclusion of voting. The election, held for 15 Rajya Sabha seats across these states, saw 41 candidates securing their positions without facing opposition out of the total 56 seats contested.

Here’s a breakdown of the results by state:

BJP candidate Harsh Mahajan wins Himachal Pradesh (Image credits: Hindustan Times)
  • Uttar Pradesh: The BJP emerged victorious in eight out of the ten Rajya Sabha seats contested, with the remaining two seats won by the Samajwadi Party. Earlier objections raised by the SP with the Election Commission delayed the counting process, which was initially scheduled to commence at 5 pm.
  • Karnataka: The Congress clinched all three seats it contested in the Rajya Sabha, while the Bharatiya Janata Party secured one seat. Congress candidates Ajay Maken, Dr Syed Naseer Hussain, and GC Chandrashekhar secured victory with 47, 46, and 46 votes respectively, according to ANI. BJP candidate Narayana Bandage secured the lone seat for the party.
  • Himachal Pradesh: BJP candidate Harsh Mahajan secured the Rajya Sabha seat in the Congress-ruled state. However, Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu raised allegations of MLAs being “kidnapped” by the CRPF and Haryana Police, citing sightings of five to six MLAs reaching Panchkula.

These results mark significant wins and losses for various political parties across the three states in the Upper House elections, shaping the political landscape in the region.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *