RPN Singh and Sudhanshu Trivedi are among the BJP candidates nominated for the Rajya Sabha elections

RPN Singh, who switched from the Congress to the BJP in 2022, has been selected as a nominee from Uttar Pradesh.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has unveiled its roster of 14 candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections slated for February 27. The voting for the 56 seats spread across 15 states will be tallied on the same day.

RPN Singh, a former Congress leader who switched allegiance to the BJP in 2022, has been nominated from Uttar Pradesh. Other nominees from UP include Sudhanshu Trivedi, Chaudhary Tejveer Singh, Sadhna Singh, Amarpal Maurya, Sangita Balwant, and Navin Jain. Uttar Pradesh has the highest number of vacancies with 10 seats.

Except for Sudhanshu Trivedi, none of the nine outgoing BJP MPs from Uttar Pradesh, including Anil Jain, Anil Agrawal, and G V L Narasimha Rao, have been re-nominated. The list from UP reflects a balanced representation of various castes, including Kurmi, Brahmin, Nishad, Jain, Rajput, Maurya, and Jat.

None of the Union ministers, whose terms are concluding, were included in the list, raising speculation that many of them will contest the Lok Sabha polls.

In Bihar, which has six seats, the BJP, in alliance with Nitish Kumar’s JDU, has nominated Dharmsheela Gupta and Bhim Singh. Notably, the name of Sushil Kumar Modi is absent from this list, although he has congratulated the two Bihar leaders on their nominations.

In Chhattisgarh, where the BJP secured a surprise victory over the Congress in the recent state elections, Raja Devendra Pratap Singh has been nominated. Mr Singh hails from the erstwhile Gond royal family and replaces Saroj Pandey.

In Haryana, the BJP will field its former state chief Subhash Barala, a Jat, while in Karnataka, Narayana Krishanasa Bhandage will be the candidate.

In Uttarakhand, Mahendra Bhatt will represent the BJP, while in Bengal, Samik Bhattacharya will be the candidate.

Candidates from Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, and Maharashtra are yet to be announced by the BJP.

Union ministers Mansukh Mandaviya and Parshottam Rupala from Gujarat, Union ministers Dharmendra Pradhan and L Murugan from Madhya Pradesh, and Union minister Narayan Rane from Maharashtra are among those retiring from the House as members.

A total of 58 Rajya Sabha members, including eight Central Ministers, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, and BJP chief JP Nadda, will retire by the first week of May. Among those retiring are 28 MPs from the BJP, 11 from Congress, four from Trinamool Congress, four from Bharat Rashtra Samithi, two each from Biju Janata Dal, Rashtriya Janata Dal, and Janata Dal (United), and one each from YSRCP, Shiv Sena, NCP, Telugu Desam Party, and Sikkim Democratic Front.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *