Sonia Gandhi Elected Unopposed to The Upper House of the Parliament from Rajasthan

Former Congress Chief Sonia Gandhi has been elected unopposed to the Rajya sabha from Rajasthan

Apart from Mrs. Gandhi, Chunnilal Garasiya and Madan Rathore of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have secured their seats in the Upper House from the state, announced Assembly Secretary Mahaveer Prasad Sharma. Their election was uncontested, with Tuesday marking the deadline for withdrawal of nominations.

As no other candidates were contesting, the three leaders were elected to Rajya Sabha unopposed, the officer said.

The tenure of Rajya Sabha members Manmohan Singh (Congress) and Bhupendra Yadav (BJP) is ending on April 3. The third seat fell vacant after the BJP MP Kirodi Lal Meena resigned from the House in December after being elected MLA.

The BJP has 115 members and the Congress 70 in the 200-member assembly.

There are 10 Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan. After the results, Congress has six members and the BJP four.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *